top of page
Champ de pavot

“Crises, upheavals and illness do not happen by chance, they serve as indicators to rectify a trajectory, explore new directions, experience another way of life”

CARL GUSTAV JUNG

ABOUT

ABOUT ME

Photo site cess.jpg

As a cognitive behavioral therapist (CBT) and former researcher in the clinical field (University Hospital of Geneva), I strongly believe that psychological care, as a part of healthcare, must be based on scientific evidence. However, there is no one-size-fits-all approach and I believe in collaborative engagement where we are able to explore and develop a path that works for you. I therefor base my approach on a range of theoretical orientations, some or all of which we will draw upon to suit you as an individual.

 

Born in Geneva into a multicultural family, I have always been curious about the social and cultural aspects of psychological difficulties. After my basic training in Geneva, I obtained a Master's Degree in clinical psychology and psychopathology at the University of Lausanne with a minor in sociocultural psychology. I believe it important to integrate these dimensions into my work in order to find ways to live well with oneself and to develop one's rightful place and desired role in society, including a deep, meaningful and honest relationship with others.

 

Having evolved in sectors as diverse as perinatal care, child psychiatry (HUG) and adult psychiatry (CHUV, private practise) and having worked with various types of psychological difficulties (anxiety, depression, burnout, trauma, eating disorders, personality disorders, phobias, etc.), I now work in French or in English with adults, adolescents, children and their families in my private practice in the district of Champel, Geneva.

 

For any questions on the possibility of working together, I kindly invite you to contact me by phone or by email.

 

I look forward to meeting you.

Services

SERVICES

Nœud

Individual care may be appropriate for a range of different situations. Directly or indirectly, individual care aims above all else to reduce suffering.

Depending on your needs or the problem you wish to adress, we will define specific goals together and work weekly or bi-montly to achieve them.

Sometimes, it can be hard to identify what is causing us pain. Individual care makes it possible to clarify needs in order to set clear objectives. Finally, individual therapy can also help us to get to know ourselves and our relationships to others better and to take responsibility for our lives and our desires in an approach centered on personal development.

Comm assertive photo.jpg

“Self-confidence and assertive communication”

is a short-term therapy protocol recommended for people who find it difficult to express their needs or opinions in front of others.

 

One can, for example, be afraid of showing disagreement for fear of hurting or disappointing others. In other situations, we can be reluctant to talk about ourselves and our way of seeing things for fear of being ridiculed, uninteresting or for fear of embarrassment or rejection;

GROUPE THÉRAPEUTIQUE 2

Groupe GE photo.jpg

"Identifying, understanding and regulating emotions" is a short-term therapy protocol for people who encounter difficulties related to their emotions. For example, one can experience anxiety, sometimes going as far as having panic attacks without understanding the origin of the problem. At times we can also have the impression of losing control and behaving in a way that we then regret, such as yelling, insulting, or hitting, without feeling like we are able to express ourselves or being heard.

Book a free call now
TCC

A FEW WORDS ON COGNITIVE 

BEHAVIORAL THERAPY (CBT)

Cognitive behavioral therapy is a model for understanding human functioning and explaining the nature of psychological difficulties and suffering to provide them with a solution. It is based on learning theories and information processing theories, both deriving from scientific studies.

According to the cognitive behavioral model, human beings come into the world with a set of genetic characteristics that make up their temperament or personality. During development, our innate constitution interacts with our surroundings (family and social context) to carry out the learnings necessary for our development.

In line with this model, psychological difficulties are the result of maladaptive learnings which cause emotional reactions and behaviors that are unwanted or sometimes disproportionate to situations which normally would not generate such responses. Several factors are involved in maladaptive learnings, including the explanations and interpretations we tend to give to the situations we go through. To face the psychological issues we encounter, cognitive behavioral therapy offers a set of techniques aimed at modifying the elements that maintain the problem and create vicious cycles:

 

  • Thoughts: we learn to identify the thoughts that make us suffer, to put them into discussion and in time work to modify them

 

  • Emotions: we identify painful emotional states and provide them with relief and regulation through relaxation techniques (breathing, muscle relaxation, meditation, etc.) and general self-care

 

  • Behaviors: we learn to question our behavioral responses to certain situations and gradually adopt behaviors that are more suited to those situations and in agreement with our goals and true selves.

 

Cognitive behavioral therapy is a journey based on a collaboration between the patient and the therapist in which the former is the expert of their own life and difficulties and the latter is the expert on the method. Trust and agreement on goals is essential to create a context in which one acquires the strategies to gradually build the path to one's well-being.

FAQ

FAQ

How long is a session ?

An individual session lasts 50 to 60 minutes and a group session lasts 2 hours with a short break in the middle.

How do I know if you are the right psychologist for me?

Choosing your psychologist is an important process. To facilitate this process, I offer a 15-minute free phone call to discuss your needs, expectations and the type of work I do. A good way to decide if a psychologist is the right person for you is to listen to how you feel in their presence. At the very least, you should feel trustful, respected and heard. Sometimes it is worth giving it 1 to 3 sessions to get to know each other better before making a decision.

How long will we work together for?

Sometimes, short term support is enough to adress a specific issue or when one needs occasional psychological support to get through a specific situation. In this case, sessions can take place over a period of a few weeks/months. In other cases, with more diffuse issues or with regards to personal development and growth, the work can last a year or more. Decisions about the frequency and duration of care are discussed between the patient and the psychologist.

How much does a session cost and is it reimbursed by health insurance?

An individual session costs 160 CHF and a couple's session or a family session costs 220 CHF. Sessions are not reimbursed by the swiss basic insurance (LAMal). However, some supplementary insurance programs reimburse part of the treatment.

 

Participating to group therapy costs 1000 CHF and covers all 10 sessions. Group sessions are reimbursed by most supplementary insurances.

I'm not suffering from mental illness, can we still work together ?

Psychological care is intended for anyone who wants to know and understand themselves better. Sometimes it's needed to alleviate suffering or to bring solutions to a specific problem. Sometimes, it helps to treat a disorder that is creating a more general sense of distress. Sometimes, it provides guidance in a quest for personal development and self-understanding. There is no "bad" reason to want psychological care.

CONTACT

Contact
Champ de pavot
CONTACT ME

5 Chemin Malombré 1206 Genève

 

schumacherhanna@gmail.com

Thank you for your message !

bottom of page

“Les crises, les bouleversements et la maladie ne surgissent pas par hasard. Ils nous servent d'indicateurs pour rectifier une trajectoire, explorer de nouvelles orientations, expérimenter un autre chemin de vie.”

CARL GUSTAV JUNG

 

QUI SUIS-JE ?

Psychologue d’orientation cognitivo-comportementale (TCC) et chercheuse dans le domaine clinique (Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève), j'ai la conviction qu'un bon suivi doit se baser sur des techniques éprouvées par la science. Toutefois, il n'y a pas d'approche à taille unique et il est essentiel d'élaborer ensemble ce qui convient à chacun.e. Dans une perspective personnalisée et intégrative, je me base donc sur plusieurs courants théoriques pour édifier avec vous le chemin à suivre.

 

Née à Genève dans une famille multiculturelle, je me suis toujours intéressée à la part sociale et culturelle des difficultés psychologiques. J'ai réalisé mon cursus de base à Genève, puis ai obtenu un Master en psychologie clinique et en psychopathologie à l'Université de Lausanne avec une mineure en psychologie socioculturelle. Il me tient à cœur d’intégrer ces dimensions dans mon approche pour élaborer ensemble des moyens de bien vivre avec soi, mais également d’élaborer sa juste place et son rôle souhaité dans la société ainsi qu'une relation aux autres honnête, profonde et affirmée.

 

Ayant évolué dans des secteurs aussi variés que la périnatalité, la pédopsychiatrie (HUG) et la psychiatrie adulte (CHUV) et ayant été amenée à travailler avec divers types de difficultés psychologiques (anxiété, dépression, trouble du comportement alimentaire, troubles de la personnalité, addictions, phobies), je travaille aujourd’hui avec les adultes et les adolescents dans mon cabinet à Genève, en français ou en anglais.

 

Pour toute question sur la possibilité d’un suivi, je vous invite cordialement à prendre contact avec moi par téléphone ou par mail.

 

Au plaisir de faire votre connaissance.

 

SERVICES

Un suivi individuel peut être indiqué pour répondre à une multitude de situations. De manière plus ou moins directe, un suivi individuel vise surtout une réduction de la souffrance. En fonction du besoin amené ou du problème à traiter, de sa complexité et du but que vous souhaitez réaliser, nous définissons ensemble des objectifs spécifiques et travaillons de façon hebdomadaire à les atteindre. Toutefois, il arrive parfois que nous ne sachions pas vraiment identifier ce qui nous fait souffrir. Le suivi individuel permet alors de clarifier des besoins et une demande afin de se fixer des objectifs clairs. Enfin, un suivi individuel peut également permettre de mieux se connaître, se comprendre et s’assumer dans une approche visant au développement personnel.

Le groupe thérapeutique               « Confiance en soi et  communication assertive » est indiqué pour les personnes qui ont du mal à exprimer leurs besoins ou leurs opinions face aux autres.

On peut, par exemple, avoir peur de manifester son désaccord par crainte de blesser ou de décevoir. Dans d’autres situations, on peut s’empêcher de parler de soi, de notre façon de voir les choses par crainte d’être ridicules, inintéressant.e.s, par gêne ou par peur d’être rejeté.e.s ;

GROUPE THÉRAPEUTIQUE 2

Le groupe thérapeutique                   « Identification, compréhension et régulation des émotions » s’adresse à toutes les personnes qui rencontrent des difficultés en lien avec leurs émotions.

On peut par exemple vivre de l’anxiété, allant parfois même jusqu’à des attaques de panique, sans en comprendre l’origine. Il peut aussi s’agir de crises de colère durant lesquelles on a l’impression de perdre le contrôle et d’avoir des comportements que l’on regrette ensuite, comme par exemple hurler, insulter, ou frapper, sans pour autant réussir à s’exprimer ou se faire entendre.

Demandez un appel gratuit
 

QUELQUES MOTS SUR LA THERAPIE

COGNITIVO-COMPORTEMENTALE (TCC)

L’approche cognitive et comportementale est un modèle de compréhension du fonctionnement de l’être humain qui permet d’expliquer la nature des difficultés psychologiques et de leur apporter une solution. Elle se base sur les théories de l’apprentissage et les théories du traitement de l’information, toutes deux fondées sur des études scientifiques.

Selon le modèle cognitif et comportemental, l’être humain vient au monde doté de tout un ensemble de caractéristiques génétiques qui composent son tempérament. Au cours du développement, celui-ci interagit avec le contexte familial et social pour effectuer les apprentissages nécessaires à son développement.

Selon ce modèle les difficultés psychologiques sont la résultante d'apprentissages inadaptés qui causent des réactions émotionnelles et des comportements parfois disproportionnés ou non désirés à des situations qui normalement ne génèrent pas de telles réponses. Plusieurs facteurs sont en cause dans ces mauvais apprentissages, notamment les explications et les interprétations que l’on donne à ces situations. Pour affronter les difficultés psychologiques rencontrées, la thérapie cognitive et comportementale propose un ensemble de techniques qui visent la modification des éléments qui maintiennent le problème et créent des cercles vicieux:

  • Les pensées : on apprend à reconnaitre les pensées qui nous font souffrir, à les mettre en discussion et à les modifier

  • Les émotions : on identifie les états émotionnels pénibles et on leur apporte un soulagement à travers des techniques de relaxation

  • Les comportements : progressivement, on adopte des comportements plus adaptés à la situation et en accord avec nous-mêmes.

 

La thérapie cognitive et comportementale est un parcours qui se fonde sur une collaboration entre patient.e et thérapeute dans laquelle l'un.e est l’expert.e de son problème et l'autre est l’expert.e de la méthode. La confiance et l’accord sur les objectifs est indispensable pour créer un contexte dans lequel l'individu acquiert les stratégies pour construire progressivement le chemin vers son bien-être.

 

FAQ

Combien de temps dure une consultation ?

Une séance individuelle dure de 50 à 60 minutes et une séance de groupe dure 2 heures avec une courte pause au milieu.

Comment savoir si vous êtes la bonne psychologue pour moi ?
 

Choisir son/sa psychologue est un processus. Afin de faciliter ce processus, je propose un entretien téléphonique gratuit de 15 minutes pour discuter de vos besoins, de vos attentes et du type de travail que je propose. Un bon moyen de se rendre compte si un/une psychologue est la bonne personne pour soi est d'écouter son ressenti et voir ainsi si l'on se sent en confiance, entendu.e, compris.e. Parfois cela vaut la peine de se donner 1 à 3 séances pour apprendre à se connaître mieux. N'hésitez pas à prendre contact pour un appel gratuit.
 

Combien de temps dure un suivi ?
 

Parfois, un suivi bref suffit pour traiter une problématique ciblée ou lorsqu'on a besoin d'un soutien psychologique ponctuel. Dans ce cas, les séances peuvent avoir lieu sur un laps de temps de quelques semaines.D'autres fois, lors de problématiques plus diffuses ou dans une perspective de développement personnel, le travail peut durer une année ou plus. Les décisions quant à la fréquence et à la durée du suivi se discutent à deux, rien n'est imposé.
 

Combien coûte une consultation et est-elle remboursée par l'assurance maladie ?

Une séance individuelle coûte 140 CHF et  n'est pas remboursée par l'assurance de base (LAMal). Toutefois, certaines assurances complémentaires remboursent une partie du suivi. La participation à un groupe thérapeutique coûte 1000 CHF pour l'ensemble des 10 séances et est remboursée par la plupart des assurances complémentaires.

Je n'ai pas de trouble particulier, puis-je consulter ?

Un suivi psychologique est destiné à toute personne souhaitant mieux se connaître et mieux se comprendre. Parfois, cela vient répondre à une souffrance ou un problème ciblé. Parfois, cela permet d'aborder un trouble donnant lieu à un mal-être plus diffus. Parfois encore, cela vient apporter des réponses dans une quête de développement personnel et de compréhension de soi. Il n'y a pas de "mauvaise" raison de souhaiter un suivi psychologique.

CONTACT

 
CONTACTEZ-MOI

9a rue de Vermont 1202 Genève

 

schumacherhanna@gmail.com

 

078 768 00 87

© 2020 by Hanna Schumacher Proudly created with Wix.com